HDD Power Output

Discussion in 'UDOO X86' started by JaredDM, Mar 30, 2017.

1. JaredDM

JaredDM New Member

With the SATA power output, what is the maximum amperage output? I assume it's only enough for a 2.5" drive and not enough to power a 3.5" desktop drive correct?

2. Jetguy

Jetguy Member

x86_bottomedit.jpg Correct, also, remember desktop drives consume 12v (typically for the spindle). The connector on UDOO X86 only has 5V output from what I measured on the pinout. In fact, I thought I might find 3.3V but all that was present was 5V, GND, GND, NC

JaredDM and waltervl like this.
  3. JaredDM

JaredDM New Member

Thanks, that's what I figured would be the case. As a data recovery engineer, I'm well aware of HDD power requirements. All I do is fix broken drives day in and day out ;). (just FYI the 3.3V is almost never used by HDDs anyway)

I'm actually planning to use these boards to build some low-cost systems I can use to perform remote data recovery operations on location for some of our more distant re-sellers. If we can avoid shipping a drive from Barbados to the USA and back we can recover the data much faster. The onboard Arduino makes this a prime option as we can use that side of it for things like power cycling the drive, SATA cable reset, etc.

Right now I'm just collecting all the parts (including a separate power supply) to build my first prototype system. I just hope my board ships before June... :(

Last edited: Mar 30, 2017
  4. Jetguy

Jetguy Member